How To Not Live A Mediocre Life

There are 7 billion people on this earth.

How many of those people do you think hate their current 9-5?

How many of those people do you think want to get more out of life?

In a survey conducted by the Pew Research Institute consisting of 5,902 U.S. workers, including 5188 not self-employed, approximately 51% of employed adults are highly satisfied with their job overall.

Only 51%

This brings us back to the question of why people still continue living their daily lives within today’s systems.

Even if half of them hate how they are currently living 1/3rd of their life

The problem with today's society is that the current system is outdated.

School teaches that you have to study a specific field when you get to college or university.

Whatever that field is, you have to get a job within that field after college.

From there you're told that you have to work at a job, most of the time for someone else.

Then you work that job until you die and that's the only way to be successful.

If your goal is to do something you enjoy for a living and live up to your potential, do not listen to this advice.

This line of thinking is dangerous for those with ambition beyond the status quo.

That's because this line of thinking stems from doing things based on what society has deemed as the norm.

Common ideas would tell you that it's unsafe to do anything else.

That successful entrepreneurs are lucky.

But people have found unlimited ways to earn money in the digital era.

They've made a living without being tied down to a location or job.

And by exploring these unlimited pathways to make a living, you in turn find new ways to live for yourself.

I experienced this shift not to long ago after returning home from living abroad because "it was time to get a real job".

So I did exactly that:

  • I finished university to get a degree I don't use.

  • I got a job that paid well but was terrible for my wellbeing and mental health

  • I moved to a location for that job that isolated me from my loved ones.

I hated every single second of my day, with the monotony and the superficial rewards (we got rewarded for going beyond our job description with pizza parties, wtf is this elementary school?).

But I thought that's what life was supposed to be and this was what the rest of my life was going to look like.

After a year of breakdowns and chronic mental health issues, I quit my job to pursue something that I actually wanted.

I learned new skills related to videography and filmmaking, and worked on finding ways to make that my full time income.

I overcame the limiting beliefs society told me, and pursued something out of the norm that gave me fulfillment in life.

What I learned was this: to live a good life you have shift your ideas on how you can earn your income.

There are simple ways to do it, but this is how I approached it:

  • Reflect on your life so far - do you enjoy the direction your life is going or do you need to make a shift?

  • Map out the direction you want your life to go if you don't (I like to use mind maps for this to broaden ideas and make connections).

  • Identify what your ideal life and self would look like after brainstorming

  • Build a list of goals from that image to help you achieve your ideal self

  • Identify the skills you need to achieve those goals.

  • build routines to help you learn and execute with those skills

  • revisit your routines, skills and goals to identify where you need to pivot if necessary, keeping that ideal self in mind.

Again its crazy to make such a shift away from what society deems as "the norm"

But it's even crazier to stick to the life that's prescribed to you by society if that's not what you want.

Because to live a good life you have to change your perspective of what a good life looks like.

From there it changes the way you find ideas, how you earn your income, and what you do every day to make that a reality.

If you enjoyed this, consider subscribing to my newsletter and YouTube channel.

This is where I dive deeper on topics of online business, travel, and personal growth.

Thank you for reading.

Alex Oropel.